Follow us on Instagram

4 things to keep in mind for modern kosher catering.

modern kosher catering in montreal

4 things to keep in mind for modern kosher catering.

Montreal is often celebrated for being a hub that is home to a variety of different people, both in culture and ways of life. It’s a magnificently welcoming quality that sets it apart from most cities. As a result, Montreal is characterized for the variety of foods it offers both locals and tourists. This isn’t surprising given that diet is an extremely important aspect for many cultures and their history. Thus, many cultures honor this legacy by maintain traditions fervently. Amongst them is the Jewish community, which is notable for having established over a number of generations in Montreal. Kosher foods are a dietary requirement for anyone who is of the Jewish religion. Kosher comes from the Hebrew term kashér, which means “fit” – as in fit for consumption. Given that, kosher catering in Montreal has developed significantly to meet the dietary needs of the significant Jewish community in the city. But what exactly is allowed and not allowed then? Let’s take a look at the fundamentals of a kosher diet.

 

 

1) No Birds. Some Fishes. Most Mammals. And Some Insects?

 

The Torah prohibits the consumption of winged creatures, primarily birds of prey, fish-eating water birds, and bats. The Torah, however, does permit fish that reside in seas and rivers that have fins and scales. Mammals are prohibited for the most part, unless they’re specifically four-legged animals that have cloves hooves and chew buds. All those requirements need to be met in order for it to be considered clean. And although we don’t really serve insects at Time Supper Club, if your heart truly fancies it, the Torah does allow for locusts, beetles, crickets and grasshoppers as the select few insects that can be considered kosher.

 

 

2) Animal Products

 

This one can get a bit tricky. When we say animal products, we mean anything an animal can produce, be it eggs, milk, cheese and any other product that comes directly from another animal. For these to be considered clean, they must come fromkosher animals. What makes it a little more complicated is if the animal is discovered to be diseased after it has been slaughtered. If this is the case, then the products are considered non-kosher. Consult with us at Time Supper Club to get details on the best and most experienced kosher caterers in Montreal.

 

3) Blood

 

This one’s a lot simpler than the previous condition. For food to be considered kosher, the blood needs to be removed entirely so that it can be clean and fit for consumption. Thus, the preparation of meats needs to be meticulous and thorough to have all traces of blood removed.

Related: Planning an event with kosher catering at Time Supper Club

 

4) Gelatin

 

Because gelatin is the principal protein in animal connective tissue, it’s easily possible that it can originate from nonkosher sources such as pig skin. Therefore, it’s generally considered non-kosher, unless it can be proven that it comes from a kosher source. Fortunately, there are a lot of desserts out there to make up for the lack of Jell-O.

 

 

These are the fundamental elements to keep in mind when deciding on modern kosher catering for your wedding. Fortunately, kosher catering in Montreal is greatly developed due to the generational contributions brought forth by the Jewish community. Fortunately, we’ve got the right people on board to handle your modern kosher catering needs here at Time Supper Club. Just reach out to us and we’ll gladly fill you in on the details.

user-gravatar
admin
No Comments

Post a Comment

Comment
Name
Email
Website